Tractors on Parade 22 of 30 April Poems by mauveone.


I saw it on a friend’s Facebook

Post, that 500 tractors were

Passing through her Village,

It was too bad it wasn’t a day

I could go see them.

I felt disappointed.

The next day we were

Travelling to a St. Georges

Day event at Pontefract Castle.

Suddenly, there were tractors

Turning out of a junction,

Marshalls were controlling

Traffic, we were waved

Into the Parade.

I was thrilled, so many

Tractors, all sizes, all colours

Driven by men, women, teenagers.

It was so exciting, our little white

Car in among all farm vehicles..

People had come out to wave.

I waved back, but no one

Waved to our car.

It was not exciting.

Eventually, tired of their

Slow pace and stop-start,

We turned off the route

To go along the back roads

Towards Pontefract Castle

For a lovely family event.

© Marjorie Lacy.

.

Leave a comment